The founding of Dollard Des-Ormeaux dates to the 18th century, when it was an agricultural community attached to the Parish of St. Joachim de Pointe Claire (until 1845). In 1924, after almost a century of being part of the Parish of Ste. Genevieve, it became a separate municipality.
By 1960, agricultural land was being developed into housing, and the population totalled several hundred. By the 1970s, it had swelled to 15,000, and now numbers almost 50,000.
Dollard, or DDO, as it is called, is a largely suburban bedroom community, mainly residential. It boasts a central green space called Centennial Park, which includes a man-made lake, created as a reservoir for stormwater, surrounded by hills through which picturesque hiking trails wend. While the project was slated to be completed in 1967 for the country’s centennial, it faced budget overruns and was completed a decade later.
Dollard des Ormeaux fast facts:
English: Springdale Elementary, Sunshine Academy, Westpark Elementary, Wilder Penfield Elementary.
Français: École Secondaire des Sources, École Primaire Saint-Luc, École Primaire Dollard-Des Ormeaux, École Primaire du Bois-de-Liesse.
Recreation and Culture: Aquatic centre and outdoor community swimming pools, arenas, outdoor skating rinks, community centre, library, cultural centre.
Outdoor Activities: Centennial Park green space, Bois de Liesse Regional Nature Park.
Houses of Worship: Fairview Alliance Church, Asbom Or Shalom, Congregation Beth Tikvah, Mazal Jewish Centre of Quebec, Ascension Lutheran Church, Christ Lutheran Church, Église Alliance Chretienne, Saiva Mission of Quebec, Christian Reformed Church, Greek Orthodox Community of West Island of Montreal.